It was on 14th September, 1949 when the constitution-makers of the country decided to accord the status of Official Language of the Union to Hindi. To commemorate the historic occasion, Hindi Diwas is observed every year on 14th September.

The celebration of Hindi Diwas is marked by awarding of prizes for excellence in various fields viz. implementation of Official Language Policy; original Hindi Book-Writing in professional domain by the professionals concerned; and Hindi book-writing on subjects of Science and Technology, including scientific and technological subjects of contemporary interest.

The prizes under the category of Implementation of Official Language Policy are awarded to the Ministries/Departments of Govt. of India, Public Sectors Undertakings, Nationalised Banks and Financial Institutions, and Autonomous odies/Corporations/Boards. Till last year, the awards for the Ministries/ Departments were given to two sub-categories namely, those with staff strength of 300 and above, and those with strength of less than 300.

Year 2011, a new sub-category of ‘Scientific and Technical Ministries/Departments’ has been added to provide requisite motivation for wider use of Hindi in the field of Science and Technology. Awards for the PSUs and other categories are given on the basis of three linguistic regions.

Besides, creative writing in Hindi is accorded recognition by awarding Indira Gandhi Maulik Pustak Lekhan Puraskar, and Rajeev Gandhi Gyan-Vigyan Maulik Pustak-Lekhan Puraskar.

The President, Pratibha Devisingh, will be the Chief Guest on the ‘Hindi Day’ function tomorrow at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi being organized by the Department of Official Language, Ministry of Home Affairs.

Highligts Articles